A beginners guide to the Indian Super League

What do the names Del Piero, Anelka, Capdevila, Luis Garcia and Ljungberg have in common? Well if we told you that they will soon be starring in the brand new Indian Super League, it probably wouldn't have been the answer you had in mind.

With a stunning vision for India to become a global football power and qualify for the 2026 World Cup, the ISL is India's unrivalled football championship and is due to kick off on October 12th.

Eight teams from Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune have been heavily backed by big industrialists and celebrities. Globally renowned footballers will play along some of the best Indian footballers with a mission to revolutionise football in India, a traditionally cricket-mad nation.

60 matches, culminating in a final on December 17th, will hope to captivate a huge audience in a nation which has been a sleeping giant for far too long.

Opening Fixtures

Oct 12th: Atletico de Kolkata vs Mumbai City FC

Oct 13th: Delhi Dynamos FC vs FC Pune City

Oct 15th: North East United FC vs Kerala Blasters FC

Oct 16th: FC Goa vs Club Chennai


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square